Destina​tion: China

Hi! My name is Matthew Freeman, but I usually just go by Matt. I’m from New Tripoli, PA and am 18 years old. I am a rising sophomore in Pitt Business at the University of Pittsburgh. I plan on majoring in Finance and Accounting with a minor in Economics. Outside of the classroom, I am a member of Enactus and the incoming Philanthropy Chair for my fraternity, Pi Kappa Alpha. In my free time, I enjoy spending time with friends and family and anything dealing with athletics.

Hearing about the Plus3 program on my first visit to Pitt, I knew it was something for me.  When it was time to apply and choose my top destination, I chose China because I didn’t know if I’d ever have the opportunity to go there again. Also coming into play for my decision was the vast history of China and the many impressive tourist sites. Aside from that, I thought about the economic and business powerhouse that China is and learning about that first hand seemed like a no-brainer to me. I have been fortunate enough to travel outside of the US before, to both Spain and France, so I have been able to experience other cultures. However, I have never been to a communist country and am curious to see the differences between our cultures.

Traveling to China has me excited for many things, specifically the Great Wall and the Terracotta Warriors. I’m also looking forward to experiencing the everyday life there, especially in the larger cities to see the similarities and differences in relation to our cities here. Additionally, I’m looking forward to our site visits to the different companies to learn more about what goes into the business of smartphones and how different the Chinese workplace is. Lastly, the one thing I am nervous about is the language barrier, as I speak no Mandarin at all. I can’t wait to go on this once in a lifetime trip and share my experiences with everyone!

 

fullsizeoutput_112a

Leave a Reply